Data stewardship, curricula and career paths

The Task Force Data stewardship, curriculum and career paths will focus on the Data Stewards role and their core activities. To help researchers to make FAIR data it is necessary to have professional staff. To keep professional staff, we need to have a common curriculum for their skills and possibilities for career paths.

The Task Force is co-chaired by Ilire Hasani-Mavriqi,  Celia van Gelder (from April 2022) and Vera Matser (until April 2022). The Data stewardship, curricula and career paths Task Force focuses on the Data Stewards role and their core activities.  The TF is engaging with all stakeholders, including for example the RDA Group on Professionalizing Data Stewardship and EUA, but also with other EOSC-A Task forces. We aim to build on the extensive work done by all stakeholders, including the recommendations from the Digital Skills for FAIR and Open Science report  of the EOSC Working Group Skills & Training. The TF will consolidate current insights, recommendations and implementation examples and make them available for all stakeholders. The two main work streams in the TF are focussing on the minimal curriculum and on the career paths for data stewards. Since the TF is rather small, we welcome new members. Please contact us if you are interested in working with us.


Celia van Gelder

Celia van Gelder


Ilire Hasani-Mavriqi

Ilire Hasani-Mavriqi

TU Graz

Board Liaison

Wilhelm Widmark

Wilhelm Widmark

Stockholm University


Basalti, Chiara


Bianchini, Federico

University of Oslo

Blümel, Ina


Blumer, Eliane


Bracco, Laetitia

University of Lorraine

Claes, Nathalie

KU Leuven

Cournede, Constance

Université de Nantes

Fazekas-Paragh, Judit

University of Debrecen

Forni, Monica

University of Bologna

Frontini, Francesca


Galik, Małgorzata

Jagiellonian University

Gurwitz, Kim


Janik, Joanna


Kalová, Tereza

University of Vienna

Kuchma, Iryna


Legat, Dunja

University of Maribor

Lindroos, Hanna

Swedish University of Agricultural sciences

Luetcke, Henry

ETH Zürich

Meeus, Joke


Szuflita-Żurawska, Magdalena

Gdańsk University of Technology

Thorpe, Deborah

University College Cork

Ward, Robyn

University of Nottingham

Wałek, Anna

Gdańsk University of Technology

Wildgaard, Lorna

Copenhagen University Library